Back to the timeline

Barron Miles, #31

Share

Barron Miles was a standout defensive back out of University of Nebraska, with whom he won the 1994 NCAA national championship. He joined the Montreal Alouettes in 1998 and enjoyed a stellar 12-year CFL career.

The Roselle, NJ native spent seven seasons in Montreal, earning four East Division All-Star nods (1999, 2000, 2002, 2003) and three CFL All-Star honours (1999, 2000 and 2002). Miles was recognized as a league All-Star six times at two different positions and won Grey Cups with both the Alouettes (2002) and B.C. Lions (2006). He was an eight-time CFLPA All-Star (1999, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2006, 2007, 2008, and 2009).

In total, he played 189 regular season games and 13 more in the playoffs, winning two Grey Cups (2002, 2006) and participating in two more with the Alouettes (2000, 2003).

He retired with 66 career interceptions, tied for second-most in league history, and is the CFL’s all-time leader with 13 blocked kicks, holding the all-time franchise marks for both the Alouettes (seven) and Lions (six). His 980 interception return yards are sixth-best in CFL history.

He received the Frank M. Gibson Trophy as the East Division Most Outstanding Rookie in 1998 and the James P. McCaffrey Trophy as the East Division Most Outstanding Defensive Player in 2002. In 2004, the CFL Players Association honoured Miles with the Tom Pate Memorial Award for Outstanding Community Service. Since retiring as a player, Miles has made coaching stints with the Lions, Saskatchewan Roughriders, Winnipeg Blue Bombers and Edmonton Eskimos, earning two more Grey Cup rings as a coach. Miles is currently part of the Edmonton Eskimos coaching staff.

Fans
comments

Retour a la ligne du temps

Barron Miles, #31

Partager

Barron Miles a connu du succès comme demi défensif avec l’Université du Nebraska avec qui il a gagné le championnat de la NCAA en 1994. Il a ensuite amorcé une carrière de 12 saison dans la LCF avec comme premier arrêt Montréal.

Le natif de Roselle au New Jersey a passé sept saisons à Montreal. Durant sa carrière, il a été nommé quatre fois sur l’équipe d’étoiles de l’Est (1999, 2000, 2002, 2003), cinq fois sur l’équipe d’étoiles de l’Ouest (2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009) et six fois sur l’équipe d’étoiles de LCF (1999, 2000, 2002, 2006, 2008, 2009). Il a aussi figuré au sein de l’équipe d’étoiles de l’Association des joueurs de la LCF (AJLCF) à huit occasions (1999, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009).

Au total, il a disputé 189 parties en saison régulière et 13 autres en éliminatoires. Il compte à son palmarès deux bagues de la Coupe Grey (2002, 2006) en plus d’avoir participé au match ultime avec les Alouettes en 2000 et en 2003.

Il a tiré sa révérence avec 66 interceptions en carrière, à égalité au deuxième rang de la LCF. Il est le meneur pour le plus de bottés bloqués avec 13. Il détient la marque d’équipe (sept) avec les Alouettes et (six) avec les Lions. Ses 980 verges sur des retours d’interceptions le placent au sixième rang de la LCF.

Il a reçu le trophée Frank M. Gibson comme recrue par excellence de la division Est en 1998 et le trophée James P. McCaffrey comme meilleur joueur défensif de la division Est en 2002. En 2004, il était le représentant des Alouettes pour le prix Tom-Pate, remis annuellement par l’AJLCF à un joueur qui s’est démarqué au sein de sa collectivité. Depuis sa retraite comme joueur, Miles a passé du temps avec la Colombie-Britannique, la Saskatchewan, Winnipeg et Edmonton. Il a remporté la Coupe Grey à deux reprises en tant qu’entraîneur. Miles est présentement un membre de l’équipe d’entraîneurs des Eskimos d’Edmonton.

Commentaires
des fans